Paul Childress

Website

Initial Interview, December 30th, 2004 - 1100lb+ squatting, top 308lb Westsider.

What are your age, bodyweight and occupation?

I will turn 34 on January 2, my body weight is normally around 320lb and I compete at 308lb. I work as a personal trainer and strength & conditioning consultant.

What are your best lifts?

Squat 1124lb WR @ 308lb

Bench 690lb WPO WR @ 308lb

Deadlift 782 @ 308lb

Total 2579 WR @ 308

How long have you been lifting and where?

I live and train in Buffalo, NY. I received my first weight set when I was 8 years old and have been training ever since. I started competitive powerlifting during high school and returned to powerlifting after college.

What style of training do you use?

I train using Westside Barbell principles. I have been using WSB for about 7 years.

What type of equipment do you use and how do you get the most out of it?

For the squat I use a Ginny Philips suit and Frantz briefs. For the bench I use an Inzer double denim. And for the deadlift I wear a pair of Frantz briefs. I also wear Chuck Taylors for all three lifts. As for getting the most out of my gear. I don't use it that much. I only wear my squat suit a couple if time a year (other than meet day). I feel very comfortable in it and don't really need to us it. The bench is a different story. I have been using my shirt more, because I don’t get much of a carry over out of my shirt. So I’m really trying to learn how to use a shirt better. As for the DL I only wear a pair of briefs and a singlet. I have tried different DL suit but have never found one that I really like.

Who are you?

I’m a self employed personal trainer and I’m on staff at elite fitness systems (elitefts.com). I have a Masters degree in Exercise Science and Nutrition. I started my business three years ago and now have about 20 clients and two employees with their own clients.

I’m single and my family (parents and two sisters) are my biggest fans.